This list is directly copied via http://www.foodallergy.org/allergens/
- Albumin (also spelled albumen)
- Egg (dried, powdered, solids, white, yolk)
- Meringue (meringue powder)
Eggs are sometimes found in the following:
- Baked goods
- Egg substitutes
Some Unexpected Sources of Egg*
- Eggs have been used to create the foam or topping on specialty coffee drinks and are used in some bar drinks.
- Some commercial brands of egg substitutes contain egg whites.
- Most commercially processed cooked pastas (including those used in prepared foods such as soup) contain egg or are processed on equipment shared with egg-containing pastas. Boxed, dry pastas are usually egg-free, but may be processed on equipment that is also used for egg-containing products. Fresh pasta is sometimes egg-free, too. Read the label or ask about ingredients before eating pasta.
- Egg wash is sometimes used on pretzels before they are dipped in salt.
*Note: This list highlights examples of where eggs have been unexpectedly found (e.g., on a food label for a specific product, in a restaurant meal, in creative cookery). This list does not imply that eggs are always present in these foods; it is intended to serve as a reminder to always read the label and ask questions about ingredients before eating a food that you have not prepared yourself.
Keep the following in mind:
- Individuals with egg allergy should also avoid eggs from duck, turkey, goose, quail, etc., as these are known to be cross-reactive with chicken egg.
- Mahi Mahi
Some Unexpected Sources of Fish*
- Caesar salad and Caesar dressing
- Worcestershire sauce
- Imitation or artificial fish or shellfish (surimi, also known as “sea legs” or “sea sticks,” is one example)
- Barbecue sauce
- Caponata, a Sicilian eggplant relish
*Note: This list highlights examples of where fish has been unexpectedly found (e.g., on a food label for a specific product, in a restaurant meal, in creative cookery). This list does not imply that fish is are always present in these foods; it is intended to serve as a reminder to always read the label and ask questions about ingredients before eating a food that you have not prepared yourself.
- Butter, butter fat, butter oil, butter acid, butter ester(s)
- Casein hydrolysate
- Caseinates (in all forms)
- Cottage cheese
- Lactalbumin, lactalbumin phosphate
- Milk (in all forms, including condensed, derivative, dry, evaporated, goat’s milk and milk from other animals, lowfat, malted, milkfat, nonfat, powder, protein, skimmed, solids, whole)
- Milk protein hydrolysate
- Rennet casein
- Sour cream, sour cream solids
- Sour milk solids
- Whey (in all forms)
- Whey protein hydrolysate
Milk is sometimes found in the following:
- Artificial butter flavor
- Baked goods
- Caramel candies
- Lactic acid starter culture and other bacterial cultures
- Luncheon meat, hot dogs, sausages
- Nondairy products
Some Unexpected Sources of Milk*
- Deli meat slicers are frequently used for both meat and cheese products.
- Some brands of canned tuna fish contain casein, a milk protein.
- Many non-dairy products contain casein (a milk derivative), listed on the ingredient labels.
- Some specialty products made with milk substitutes (i.e., soy-, nut- or rice-based dairy products) are manufactured on equipment shared with milk.
- Some meats may contain casein as a binder. Check all labels carefully.
- Shellfish is sometimes dipped in milk to reduce the fishy odor. Ask questions about the risk of milk contact when purchasing shellfish.
- Many restaurants put butter on steaks after they have been grilled to add extra flavor. The butter is not visible after it melts.
- Some medications contain milk protein.
*Note: This list highlights examples of where milk has been unexpectedly found (e.g., on a food label for a specific product, in a restaurant meal, in creative cookery). This list does not imply that milk is always present in these foods; it is intended to serve as a reminder to always read the label and ask questions about ingredients before eating a food that you have not prepared yourself.
- Artificial nuts
- Beer nuts
- Cold pressed, expeller pressed or extruded peanut oil
- Ground nuts
- Mandelonas (peanuts soaked in almond flavoring)
- Mixed nuts
- Monkey nuts
- Nut meat
- Nut pieces
- Peanut butter
- Peanut flour
- Peanut protein hydrolysate
Peanut is sometimes found in the following:
- Baked goods (e.g., pastries, cookies)
- Candy (including chocolate candy)
- Egg rolls
- Enchilada sauce
- Mole sauce
Some Unexpected Sources of Peanut
- African, Asian and Mexican dishes
- Sauces such as chili sauce, hot sauce, pesto, gravy, mole sauce and salad dressing
- Sweets such as pudding, cookies, baked goods, pies and hot chocolate
- Egg rolls
- Specialty pizzas
- Some vegetarian food products, especially those advertised as meat substitutes
- Foods that contain extruded, cold-pressed or expelled peanut oil, which may contain peanut protein
- Glazes and marinades
- Pet food
- Benne, benne seed, benniseed
- Gingelly, gingelly oil
- Gomasio (sesame salt)
- Sesame flour
- Sesame oil*
- Sesame paste
- Sesame salt
- Sesame seed
- Sesamum indicum
- Sim sim
- Tahini, Tahina, Tehina
*Studies show that in general, most individuals with specific food protein allergies can safely consume highly refined oils derived from the original food source (examples include highly refined peanut and soybean oil). However, because sesame oil is not refined, it is recommended that it be avoided by individuals with sesame allergy.
- Asian cuisine (sesame oil is commonly used in cooking)
- Baked goods (such as bagels, bread, breadsticks, hamburger buns and rolls)
- Bread crumbs
- Cereals (such as granola and muesli)
- Chips (such as bagel chips, pita chips and tortilla chips)
- Crackers (such as melba toast and sesame snap bars)
- Dipping sauces (such as baba ghanoush, hummus and tahini sauce)
- Dressings, gravies, marinades and sauces
- Ethnic foods such as flavored rice, noodles, risotto, shish kebabs, stews and stir fry
- Goma-dofu (Japanese dessert)
- Herbs and herbal drinks
- Pasteli (Greek desert)
- Processed meats and sausages
- Protein and energy bars
- Snack foods (such as pretzels, candy, Halvah, Japanese snack mix and rice cakes)
- Turkish cake
- Vegetarian burgers
- Cosmetics (including soaps and creams)
- Nutritional supplements
- Pet foods
- Crawfish (crawdad, crayfish, ecrevisse)
- Lobster (langouste, langoustine, Moreton bay bugs, scampi, tomalley)
- Shrimp (crevette, scampi)
- It is important to note that mollusks are not considered major allergens underFALCPA and may not be fully disclosed on a product label.
Your doctor may advise you to avoid mollusks or these ingredients:
- Clams (cherrystone, geoduck, littleneck, pismo, quahog)
- Limpet (lapas, opihi)
- Sea cucumber
- Sea urchin
- Snails (escargot)
- Squid (calamari)
- Whelk (Turban shell)
Shellfish are sometimes found in the following:
- Cuttlefish ink
- Fish stock
- Seafood flavoring (e.g., crab or clam extract)
- Soy (soy albumin, soy cheese, soy fiber, soy flour, soy grits, soy ice cream, soy milk, soy nuts, soy sprouts, soy yogurt)
- Soybean (curd, granules)
- Soy protein (concentrate, hydrolyzed, isolate)
- Soy sauce
- Textured vegetable protein (TVP)
Soy is sometimes found in the following:
- Asian cuisine
- Vegetable gum
- Vegetable starch
- Vegetable broth
Some Unexpected Sources of Soy*
- Soybeans and soy products are found in many foods, including baked goods, canned tuna and meat, cereals, cookies, crackers, high-protein energy bars and snacks, infant formulas, low-fat peanut butter, processed meats, sauces, and canned broths and soups.
- Artificial nuts
- Brazil nut
- Chinquapin nut
- Gianduja (a chocolate-nut mixture)
- Ginkgo nut
- Hickory nut
- Litchi/lichee/lychee nut
- Macadamia nut
- Marzipan/almond paste
- Nangai nut
- Natural nut extract (e.g., almond, walnut)
- Nut butters (e.g., cashew butter)
- Nut meal
- Nut meat
- Nut milk (e.g., almond milk, cashew milk)
- Nut paste (e.g., almond paste)
- Nut pieces
- Pili nut
- Pine nut (also referred to as Indian, pignoli, pigñolia, pignon, piñon, and pinyon nut)
- Shea nut
Tree nuts are sometimes found in the following:
- Black walnut hull extract (flavoring)
- Natural nut extract
- Nut distillates/alcoholic extracts
- Nut oils (e.g., walnut oil, almond oil)
- Walnut hull extract (flavoring)
Some Unexpected Sources of Tree Nuts**
- Tree nut proteins may be found in cereals, crackers, cookies, candy, chocolates, energy bars, flavored coffee, frozen desserts, marinades, barbeque sauces and some cold cuts, such as mortadella.
- Some alcoholic beverages may contain nut flavoring and should be avoided. Since these beverages are not currently regulated by FALCPA, you may need to call the manufacturer to determine the safety of ingredients such as natural flavoring.
**Note: This list highlights examples of where tree nuts have been unexpectedly found (e.g., on a food label for a specific product, in a restaurant meal, in creative cookery). This list does not imply that tree nuts are always present in these foods; it is intended to serve as a reminder to always read the label and ask questions about ingredients before eating a food that you have not prepared yourself.
- Bread crumbs
- Cereal extract
- Club wheat
- Cracker meal
- Flour (all purpose, bread, cake, durum, enriched, graham, high gluten, high protein, instant, pastry, self-rising, soft wheat, steel ground, stone ground, whole wheat)
- Hydrolyzed wheat protein
- Matzoh, matzoh meal (also spelled as matzo, matzah, or matza)
- Sprouted wheat
- Vital wheat gluten
- Wheat (bran, durum, germ, gluten, grass, malt, sprouts, starch)
- Wheat bran hydrolysate
- Wheat germ oil
- Wheat grass
- Wheat protein isolate
- Whole wheat berries
Wheat is sometimes found in the following:
- Glucose syrup
- Soy sauce
- Starch (gelatinized starch, modified starch, modified food starch, vegetable starch)
Some Unexpected Sources of Wheat*
- Read ingredient labels carefully, even if you would not expect the product to contain wheat. Wheat has been found in some brands of ice cream, marinara sauce, play dough, potato chips, rice cakes, turkey patties and hot dogs.
- Wheat also may be found in ale, baking mixes, baked products, batter-fried foods, beer, breaded foods, breakfast cereals, candy, crackers, processed meats, salad dressings, sauces, soups, soy sauce, and surimi.
- Some types of imitation crabmeat contain wheat.
*Note: This list highlights examples of where wheat has been unexpectedly found (e.g., on a food label for a specific product, in a restaurant meal, in creative cookery). This list does not imply that wheat is always present in these foods; it is intended to serve as a reminder to always read the label and ask questions about ingredients before eating a food that you have not prepared yourself.
While only eight foods (milk, egg, peanut, tree nuts, fish, shellfish, wheat, and soy) account for approximately 90 percent of all food-allergic reactions, a person can be allergic to virtually any food.
While the list below is not exhaustive, allergic reactions have been reported to:
Meat (beef, chicken, mutton, and pork)
Seeds (sesame, sunflower, and poppy being the most common)
Spices (caraway, coriander, garlic, mustard, etc.)
Other common causes of severe reactions include:
Allergic reactions to fresh fruits and vegetables, such as apple, carrot, peach, plum, tomato and banana, to name a few, are often diagnosed as Oral Allergy Syndrome.
Uncommon Food Allergies
Allergic reactions to corn are rare and a relatively small number of case reports can be found in medical literature. However, the reports do indicate that reactions to corn can be severe. Reactions to corn can occur from both raw and cooked corn. Individuals who are allergic to corn should receive individualized expert guidance from their allergists.
Allergies to meats, such as beef, chicken, mutton or pork, are also rare. A person who is allergic to one type of meat may not need to avoid other types of meat. Heating and cooking meat can reduce the allergenicity of product.
Some may wonder whether or not an individual who is allergic to milk should also avoid beef. It is not generally advised for individuals with a milk allergy to also avoid beef, and the majority of those allergic to milk can safely eat beef products. However, one study showed that almost eight percent of the 62 children with milk allergy studied also reacted to beef. The study also suggests that well-cooked beef is less likely to be problematic for those allergic to milk.